There was someone who told me when I was 22 years old, that who I am right now isn’t going to be who I am going to be. Someday I will grow to become who I really am. The raw and naive me back then didn’t quite understand what he was saying.

Today I am 27 and I’ve changed drastically from when I was 22. I finally understood what he meant. The me today was moulded by years of life experience, largely from relationship and work experiences. What he didn’t tell me was that you might not love who you become.

For a period of time, I’ve been self-loathing, constantly comparing to who I was before. It was silly. I am not gonna hate who I am right now any more because even when I am being ugly and difficult, my husband kisses me before he goes to bed. I don’t know how he does it but if he can love who I am right now, why can’t I love myself?

Leave a Reply

